In Your Easter Bonnet

Easter Parade
In your Easter bonnet
With all the frills upon it
You’ll be the grandest lady in the Easter parade

I’ll be all in clover
And when they look you over
I’ll be the proudest fellow in the Easter parade

On the Avenue, Fifth Avenue
The photographers will snap us
And you’ll find that you’re in the rotogravure

Oh, I could write a sonnet
About your Easter bonnet
And of the girl I’m taking to the Easter parade

– Irving Berlin, 1933

The Easter Parade is one of New York’s best-known and least understood holiday traditions. There are no floats, no marching bands, no reviewing stand, no check-in table, no starting spot or finish line. It’s not that kind of parade. In fact, there’s not much organization at all.

The event’s title stems from the use of “parade” as a verb meaning “to promenade in a public place, esp. in order to show off.” Every Easter Sunday, Fifth Avenue from 49th to 57th Streets (roughly the area between Rockefeller Center and Central Park) is closed to traffic for several hours while the paraders stroll along the pavement.

Anyone who wants to participate is free to join in at any time while the celebration is taking place. Street musicians, face painters, food vendors and others who want attention tend to show up, too.

But the focus of the parade is on ordinary people, specially dressed for the day, meandering up and down the street to greet each other, show off their outfits (particularly their “Easter bonnets”) and proudly pose for innumerable photographers and admirers.


Pink & white ears
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Sticking out her tongue
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Lavender bunny & shirt
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Pink Garden
Originally uploaded by annulla.


I Love Lucy hat
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Many colored feathers
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Hat with blue parrots
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Black leather & teddy bear
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Happy Easter scene hat
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Pink & silver hat
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Bunny
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Old-fashioned elegance
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Dressed up couple
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Two toppers
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Front
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Back
Originally uploaded by annulla.

Easter Parade film
As Thousands Cheer
Dictionary: Parade

19 Responses to In Your Easter Bonnet

  1. Lori says:

    I love these Easter Parade photos! You’ve taken some really fantastic shots. I’ve always wanted to see the Easter parade in person, but have never been around for it. Thanks for the great photos (and for visiting my blog!)

    Like

  2. candy says:

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! 🙂
    I love these pictures you posted, how great! It made me smile which was nice because todays been a bit of a rough day for me so I thank you for that!

    Sincerely,
    Candy (from Canada)

    Like

  3. Oh wonderful! I love these shots and there is so much work gone in to some of these hats! Great images, thanks for sharing :o)

    Like

  4. sleepyfrog76 says:

    Wow! You New Yorkers sure know how to celebrate a holiday, don’t you? I had NO idea! Those hats were really cool, and I think the little girl was the cutest thing there. 😀

    Like

  5. Jude says:

    Your Easter parade looks like it was so much fun 🙂 Did you wear a bonnet? Thanks for explaining the parade and for your wonderful photos.

    Like

  6. jofo3511 says:

    Cool pics annulla.

    Like

  7. Glamorosi says:

    As always your photographs are fabulous! I especially love the last two of the lady in the blue marabou hat.

    Like

  8. Beth - Eliza3658 says:

    I look forward to seeing your pictures! You really can bring out the most in people – I feel like I’ve been there!

    Like

  9. pat griffith says:

    your pics are so good , thank you

    Like

  10. tiny says:

    annulla, those are so cool. you do great work.
    the first one is my favorite. 🙂

    Like

  11. curly15 says:

    Great stuff Annula, it looks like a good interesting day out. We have a small parade in South Shields on Good Friday, it’s religious, but a big day out for the children. I have put a small video on my site here

    Like

  12. freelancer says:

    very funny pics !

    Like

  13. moi says:

    thanx for bringing it to us ……….the last one was my fav.!!! and the one with tons of feathers reminded me of Audrey hepburn’s …for some strange reason!!!

    Like

  14. Edwin says:

    Fabulous! But Mr.Bunny looks a bit eerie and unhappy. I guess he must’ve lost his hat 🙂

    Like

  15. Annie says:

    Annula, these photos are simply the best. That’s an Easter Parade to remember – and your photos ensure that memories will last and last.

    Like

  16. lavenderlady says:

    I think Manhatten at Easter must be the place to be if you are a photographer.

    Like

  17. blueboat says:

    these are great – I especially love mr pink & White ears and mr bunny. so funny

    Like

  18. OMG, I took a lot of the same photos as you did. Totally cool!!

    Like

  19. Thien says:

    Good morning, Anulla. I am visiting your blog for the first time this morning. I have visited NYC 3 times now and I really loved it! And I love these Easter bonnets. How fun!

    Like

Leave a comment