Rector Gate

More from the archive.

Several large pieces of public art are installed along the Esplanade in Battery Park City, where they stand under the watchful eyes of the doormen at the surrounding luxury apartment buildings. If you go to see the installations, you should expect the uniformed men to scrutinize you carefully, as they consider the art to be “theirs.”

This one, Rector Gate, forms a 50 foot high archway at the intersection of Rector Place and the Esplanade. Built by R.M. Fischer in 1989, Rector Gate is made of stainless steel, bronze, and granite and is illuminated at night. The artist is said to have drawn his inspiration from the past and future and included elements from skyscrapers and science fiction.

DSCN6734
The gate

DSCN6746
The sides look like enormous cheese graters

DSCN6756
From here, you can see across the Hudson River

DSCN6754
The top seems to be a combination radio tower, weather vane & weapon

DSCN6747
Looking through the gate to New Jersey

DSCN6735
Top of the sculpture

DSCN6741
Looking up

DSCN6736
Birds have built nests in the light fixture

Battery Park City
Rector Gate
Sandra Gering Gallery: R.M. Fisher
Culture Now: Battery Park City Map

7 Responses to Rector Gate

  1. photowannabe says:

    What a fascinating gate. It has so many elements to it. I love thatthe birds have found a home in the light fixture.

    Like

  2. I see exactly where this is – I had a bf who lived there.
    I like how you dissect it: you are so right about the cheese graters, lol!

    Like

  3. I don’t go down to Battery Park or south of City Hall very often. So this is definitely new to me.

    Love the designs on the gate.

    Like

  4. Annulla, the “stitching mode” is on almost all point-and-shoot cameras now. My camera is at least 3 years old and really primitive. You should have it on yours. Good luck and e-mail me if you have any questions.

    Like

  5. Olivier says:

    Je ne connaissais pas, mais c’est vraiment très original

    I did not know, but it is really very original

    Like

  6. kchele says:

    You take beautiful pictures, Annulla. I love the gate.

    Like

  7. Helpful info. Lucky me I found your website accidentally, and I’m stunned why this accident didn’t happened earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

    Like

Leave a comment