Manolo Valdés at Bryant Park

I haven’t walked through Bryant Park in a while, so I almost missed the display of monumental bronzes by Spanish artist Manolo Valdés.

If you think there is something vaguely familiar about these sculptures, that may be because Valdés’s work is inspired by the great masters.

The four massive female heads near the fountain (each more than thirteen feet tall) were suggested by faces in Henri Matisse’s paintings. The figures on upper terrace (near the Public Library) are based on Diego Velázquez’ painting, Las Meninas, which depicted the Infanta Margarita and Reina Mariana.

If you want to visit them yourself, you’d better hurry; the exhibition of Valdés sculptures ends on April 15.


Manolo Valdes at Bryant Park
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Yvonne I
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Yvonne II
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Regina I
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Regina II
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Reina Mariana (I)
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Reina Mariana (II)
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Reina Mariana (III)
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Infanta Margarita
Originally uploaded by annulla.

Public Outdoor Art
Press Release: Manolo Valdés At Bryant Park
Bryant Park
Bryant Park Manolo Valdés
Instituto Cervantes

8 Responses to Manolo Valdés at Bryant Park

  1. moi says:

    Your blog only fuels my craving for visiting NY………

    Like

  2. Thank you for the comment on my photography! I am enjoying your blog as well! Those sculptures are magnificent!

    Like

  3. Urganda says:

    Hi! thank you for visit me… im not write very well in english… but a try… nice pictures!! En México hace como dos años presentaron una exposición de algunas pinturas de Manolo Valdés sobre las Meninas, me sorprende que también lleve el mismo tema a la escultura…

    Like

  4. pgriff says:

    more great pictures

    Like

  5. I haven’t been by Bryant Park for awhile. I should stop by and see the exhibition.

    M

    Like

  6. Dale says:

    Now we have them in San Francisco!
    Dale

    Like

  7. Pepe >Ð says:

    And as of Spetember 4, 2008 they are enjoying the Mediterranean sun in ALMERIA, SPAIN, but only for a month.

    Saluicos

    Like

  8. parksfo says:

    parksfo…

    […]Manolo Valdés at Bryant Park « Blather From Brooklyn[…]…

    Like

Leave a comment