Memorial Day Surprise

The plan was to attend a massive Memorial Day parade in Queens, but the directions I’d received were incomplete and left me stranded in a sketchy neighborhood where there was no sign of a celebration. The store fronts on the street were closed, few people were out, and those I found knew nothing about a parade. Feeling discouraged, it seemed the best recourse would be to return to Brooklyn and head for the beach.

Back onto the train, Brooklyn-bound, I noticed a brightly painted building in the far distance. I’d spotted it before, of course, while traveling through Queens (it was impossible to miss), and had always intended to explore it, but I’d never had the time. On this day, however, time was unlimited. I got off and just followed the colorful splashes of paint until I arrived at the place known as 5 Pointz.

Located in an industrial complex that houses artists’ studios and several garment factories, the building serves as a gallery of aerosol art. With the enthusiastic approval of the building’s owner, graffiti artist Meres One is the curator and absolute ruler, deciding who may paint here, where, and how long their work will remain before it is painted over by another.

Graffiti aficionados from around the world regard 5 Pointz as a mecca, arriving with “black books” of sketches, bags of paint, ladders, and cameras to immortalize the work they hope to produce here. Everything that happens on these walls (and floors, fire escapes, and roofs) is up to Meres, who grants permission to photograph or add to the display.

It was a clear, sunny day, a national holiday, and dozens of graffiti writers were arrayed around the building, spraying the walls with intricate, colorful, sometimes beautiful designs. I circled the enormous building, wishing that I had a better camera with me (I had an unreliable old cheap-y that I’d found in a thrift store for $5.00), admiring the skill and probably annoying the painters with my questions, until I arrived at the main entrance/loading dock.

There, amidst the paint and dumpsters of discarded fabric, a group had gathered for a great American tradition: a Memorial Day barbeque. They greeted me as though I was an expected guest, presented me with food and drink, and urged me to return. And, when I get a new camera, I certainly will.

P1011806
View from the street

P1011810
Front of the building

P1011811
Another section of the front

P1011836
Painter at work

P1011855
Painter working on painted sidewalk

P1011846
Painter working

P1011841
Tools of the trade

P1011832
Portrait mural

P1011888
Finished fairy mural

P1011892
Completed skull mural with calligraphy

P1011867
Another side of the building

P1011847
Mural with calligraphy

P1011848
Paint over metal doors

P1011882
Painted metal shutters

P1011890
Sign at loading dock

P1011947
Trash bin filled with fabric scraps

P1011923
Models, photographers and artists enjoy the barbeque

P1011946
Painters with Meres One

P1011900
The view from inside

P1011913
Spraying to prepare a clean “canvas”

P1011916
The fire escape

P1011952
Painted lamppost

5 Pointz Official Web site
MySpace: Meres One
NY Times: Museum With (Only) Walls

2 Responses to Memorial Day Surprise

  1. Olivier says:

    Magnifique toutes ces peintures murales, j’adore

    Like

  2. lailani says:

    I find graffiti amazing – wish I had some of that talent. My son and I took a mural art tour in Philly back in May, it was all very interesting🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

