Six Years On

This is the sixth anniversary of the destruction of the World Trade Center.

In previous years, the city held a memorial service at the site of the vanished complex. But now, due to the construction equipment and activity at the original location, the ceremony was moved across the street to tiny Zuccotti Park.

It was a day of firsts: The first time the service wasn’t held at the site of the Twin Towers. The first time the anniversary fell on a Tuesday (the day of the attacks). The first time the sky wasn’t a clear, brilliant blue. The first time grieving family members and survivors didn’t have access to the spots where the buildings had stood.

During the ceremony, while a flute and guitar softly played, first responders who had worked during the rescue and recovery efforts stood in the rain and read the nearly 3,000 victims’ names. They paused only for four moments of silence marking the times the hijacked airplanes hit the buildings and the times the towers fell.

Those in attendance were able to cross the street and descend a long ramp to the bedrock that had supported the foundations of the World Trade Center. There a single, shallow wooden pool had been erected to represent the footprints of the Twin Towers. That was where they left pictures, placed birthday gifts and anniversary cards, and wrote messages for and about those they’d lost.

Once the dignitaries departed, the marksmen left the rooftops of the surrounding buildings, the reporters and photographers went on to the next story and the chairs were folded up and taken away, the day’s on-and-off drizzle turned into a torrent of rain.

Down at the site, deep below ground level, the downpour overflowed the small wooden pool, blurred the penned notes and photos along its rim, and shattered the thousands of roses that floated on its surface. 

Note: More photos from the memorial service are posted here.

Invitation/Credential
Invitation

DSCN7019
Girl at service with photo in her arms & on her shirt

DSCN6966
Tattoo of Uncle Mike

DSCN7011
NYPD officer with thousand-yard stare

DSCN6900
Therapy dogs with girls

DSCN7272
TV in Port Authority trailer showing live broadcast

DSCN7050
Flowers in fence surrounding site

DSCN7112
Pool with replicas of tower footprints

DSCN7118
Thank you for being my friend

DSCN7173
“We lost both,” she said.

DSCN7135
We miss u Uncle Harry

DSCN7158
We love and miss you

DSCN7121
Save us a space on your shimmering star

DSCN7102
Matthew Diaz

DSCN7160
I ♥ you!

DSCN7125
FDNY photo in the pool

DSCN7136
Dad, keep holding the door

DSCN7143
Happy 29th birthday

DSCN7070
Volunteer distributing roses

DSCN7176
Police officer writing on reflecting pool

DSCN7157
I love you so much daddy

DSCN7198
God bless

DSCN7147
Teddy bear with roses

DSCN7090
Family coming back up the ramp

NYC Dept of Parks: Remembering Those Lost On 9/11
ABC: Video of a somber day
NY Post: Heaven’s Tears Flow
AM New York: Somber, emotional ceremony
NY Times: Bloomberg Tries to Move the City Beyond 9/11 Grief
NY Times: 90th Floor Frozen, Even as Ground Zero Changes
NY TImes: Near Ground Zero, Much Is Changed
NY Times: How Much Tribute Is Enough?

14 Responses to Six Years On

  1. chrissybum says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. For those of us unable to attend the ceremony and who were affected so deeply by this tagedy, it’s nice to see the images of the day.

    Like

  2. Jo Ann (jofo3511) says:

    Thanks for sharing annulla! Great pics to remember the 6 th anniversary of 9-11.

    Like

  3. avanta7 says:

    The tattoo of Uncle Mike brought tears to my eyes, and I lost it completely at “Dad, keep holding the door”. God bless you, annulla. Your strength and courage encourages me every day. Much love to you, my friend.

    *sniffle*

    Damn it. Now I have to go wipe mascara off my cheeks.

    Like

  4. Wren says:

    I’ve been putting off visiting your blog this week–I knew you would make me cry—and you did. What a gift you have for showing the real scene. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    You’ve been in my thoughts a lot this week.

    Like

  5. teotakuu says:

    Thank you for showing the real stories of 11 September, annulla.

    I live so far away but I feel included by the choice of photo’s and the tags.

    May those who died rest in peace and those who remain find solace and healing

    Kaua a matou i wareware i a ratou – We will never forget them

    Like

  6. Shendoah says:

    *Tears in my eyes.*

    I’ve been thinking of you this week. Keep well my friend.

    Like

  7. Your post and your pictures are so moving. I’ve seen them as you were uploading on Flickr and they move me again here. I also noticed how this was the first time the weather was the exact opposite as what it’s been since then. It felt weird in a way. Thank you for posting this, Annulla.

    Like

  8. Cheryl aka Reggiesgirl says:

    Thank you for sharing your photos and writing with us annulla. You’re on my mind at this time every year. I don’t often make comments but I wanted to make sure you knew I was still here. *hug*

    Like

  9. islandmomma says:

    Thank you for that, annulla. I will bookmark your blog now. I didn’t know you were here, and I’ve missed you.

    As each year passes there is less coverage in Europe, of course, and I worked a long day Tuesday, so I missed most of the news anyway, so I was doubly glad to be able to read it here. Six years ago I didn’t leave the tv screen for almost 24 hours, so I felt close to it, and you’ve made me feel that way again.

    Like

  10. Bill aka Ottawabill says:

    Anne
    What a beautiful tribute to the memorial and all the more powerful to Hashem and me because of the wonderful time you spent with us when we came to NYC and toured the site with you. You keep it real. You keep it human. HUGS.

    Like

  11. Rob says:

    I thought of you this week. thanks for sharing…

    ((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))))

    Like

  12. moi says:

    a very touching post, annulla…..

    Like

  13. Olivier says:

    Un bel hommage de la ville de NYC, j’ai un ami qui a eut le chance d’en sortir vivant, mais depuis sa santé se degrade, il perd la vue petit a petit , et à un cancer du sang. J’ai fait pour lui un site Memorial au 11 Septembre.


    A beautiful homage of the town of NYC, I have a friend who A had the chance to leave there alive, but since its health degraded, it loses the sight gradually, and with a leukemia. I made for him a site Memorial at September 11.

    Like

  14. photowannabe says:

    Thanks for the touching very human story of the tragedy. I have several friends who were NYC firefighters. All lived but have suffered huge health problems for their rescue efforts.
    Beautiful (if I an say that) photos.

    Like

Leave a comment

