Lord Ganesh of the Lake

The Hong Kong Dragon Boat Races are held on Meadow Lake at Flushing Meadows Park in Corona, Queens.

The ground around the lake is swampy and slippery, full of tall reeds, grasses and deceptively deep, muddy hollows. On Saturday, as I moved closer and closer to the edge to take photographs, I cautiously kept my eyes pointed downward.

When I reached the shore, I noticed something bobbing on the surface of the water. It appeared to be the back of a picture frame. I carefully reached down, grabbed it and turned it over.

To my amazement, it was an image of the elephant-headed Hindu god, Ganesh, the god of intellect and wisdom. The picture had gotten a bit gritty, but being submerged in the lake didn’t seem to have done it any real damage.

I wrapped the dripping frame in a plastic bag and brought it home. It now occupies a space in my tiny Brooklyn kitchen.

However, I can’t help wondering: How did Ganesh get into the water? How long had he been there? And — was there any significance to the fact that, out of the thousands of people assembled by the shore, he washed up at my feet?

Any theories?

DSCN1596

Wikipedia: Ganesha

2 Responses to Lord Ganesh of the Lake

  1. moi says:

    little events in life seemingly carrying no meaning may have bigger reasons behind them…i’m not religious, and i’m not superstitious …am just speculating!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. JoAnn says:

    Hmmm really a tornado in brooklyn?
    Nearly the same happened in Winnipeg (canada), not a tornado but a heavy storm….

    Bye greetings from JoAnn (Holland)

    Like

Leave a comment

