Guitar Guys Friday

Thanks to the River to River Festival, this was “Guitar Guys Friday.” Three of the buskers who usually perform in the subways as part of the Transit Authority’s Arts for Transit: Music Under New York program were invited to come above ground and play in the heart of the financial district.

They appeared under a green awning in the space formerly known as Liberty Plaza Park. Unlike most New York City parks, which are owned by the city, this square block on Lower Broadway between Liberty and Cedar Streets is owned by a private real estate company, Brookfield Properties.

The park was destroyed on September 11, 2001 and when it finally re-opened last summer (yes, the park was closed and hidden behind tall fences for nearly five years), the name had been changed to Zuccotti Park to honor John Zuccotti, the U.S. Chairman of Brookfield Properties.

The space is popular with lunchtime crowds, who munched while listening to local guitar heroes Delfin Tardio, who describes his reggae-tinged music as “electric meditation” and Heth and Jed, who call their rock-based sound “Pink Floyd meets the wall.”

DSCN9835
Delfin Tardio playing in Zuccotti Park

DSCN9830
Delfin Tardio

DSCN9871
Heth & Jed in Zuccotti Park

DSCN9896
Heth playing the guitar

DSCN9867
Heth

DSCN9842
Jed on his blue guitar

DSCN9849
Jed

♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦

By the way, just to give you a bit of historical perspective, here is a photo of the park on September 11, 2001. I didn’t take it; this image was shot by photojournalist Jeff Mermelstein.

Liberty Plaza Park 9/11 by Jeff Mermelstein
Liberty Plaza Park on 9/11 by Jeff Mermelstein

Heth and Jed
MySpace: Heth & Jed
River to River Festival: Guitar Guys
MTA’s Arts for Transit “Music Under New York” program
New York Times: Jeff Mermelstein
Lower Manhattan: Zuccotti Park
Project Rebirth: Liberty Park Plaza
Cooper Robertson: Liberty Park Plaza
Brookfield Properties

7 Responses to Guitar Guys Friday

  1. Saw Lady says:

    What beautiful photos of my friends you have!
    Thank you for your comment on my subway music blog – it lead me to discover your blog with the interesting reports about musical/performance happenings around town.

    Next time I see Delfin I’ll tell him how you were looking for him on line.

    All the best,

    Saw Lady
    http://www.SawLady.com/blog

    Like

  2. jmb says:

    Hi annulla,
    Thanks for dropping by and commenting about Cat Stevens, or Yusuf Islam as he is now known. Of course I checked all this out for myself and was very interested to see it all. I must look for his new album. I saw his new interpretation of Peace Train on YouTube. I must admit I liked the older slightly harder edged version better. But he’s still a prince.

    I see Saw Lady’s comment above so you must have seen me commenting there.
    The New York buskers are amazing, the talent is incredibe and I love to see them when I visit each year. Just above my post that you commented on I had a photo of a busker at Granville Island, Vancouver, in case you missed it.
    regards
    jmb

    Like

  3. photowannabe says:

    Great use of a “new” space. Even though it took 5 years to begin again, I’m glad it did. Really nice shots and thanks for the 9-11 included picture.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    I wish I could have been there to hear those guys. 🙂

    Like

  5. Olivier says:

    c’est la saison des festivals à NYC, tu en as de la chance

    it is the season of the festivals with NYC, you have chance of it

    Like

  6. Radha says:

    I love NYC! There is always something happening there 🙂

    Like

  7. Hi, just wanted to mention, I liked this article.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!

    Like

Leave a comment

