Making a Magic Bus

Give me a hundred
I won’t take under
Goes like thunder
It’s a bus-age wonder
Magic bus, magic bus, magic bus, magic bus
I want it, I want it, I want it 

— Pete Townshend, Magic Bus, 1968

Today, down by the South Brooklyn waterfront, I stumbled across a group of artists gathered in the street to paint a bus.

Armed with cans of spray paint and stencils, quenched by glasses of wine and cans of Red Bull, energized by the bright sunlight and the music of the Doors, they channelled the spirit of the 1960s and transformed a rather plain green vehicle into a thoroughly magic bus.

The Bus on Union Street
The Bus on Union Street

Paint cans on the table
Wine glasses and paint cans on the table

Stencil on the sidewalk
Stencil on the sidewalk

The crew at work
The crew at work

Working with white paint
Working with white paint

Section around window
Section around window

Trunk with Mr. T
Trunk with Mr. T

Reflector and skull
Reflector and skull

Village Voice: Columbia Street Waterfront District
Mendoza Auto Sales and Auto Repair
Brooklyn 1863 Draft
Red Bull
The Doors
TheWho.net: Magic Bus

10 Responses to Making a Magic Bus

  1. Olivier says:

    c’est une tres bonne idée, et je trouve que le resultat est superbe. bravo


    it is a very good idea, and I find that the result is superb. cheer

    Like

  2. Oh how cool! I bet the bus looked brilliant when it was finished!! :o)

    Thanks for your comment on my blog! If you send an email to talj80@gmail.com I will send you my address! I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    {{HUGS}}

    Like

  3. photowannabe says:

    Love to see the completed bus. A moveable feast of color.

    Like

  4. wanda says:

    Boy, does this bring back the memories of the 60’s!!! I always loved painted buses, and wanted to tour in one when I was younger!!! They are really talented artists!!

    Like

  5. JoAnn says:

    Hi Very nice pic’s ,
    This photo’s are reminding me of ‘a walk on the “piazza Navona” in Rome, there are also a lot of artists like this: painters, musicans etc.
    That artist can make “a place”look so simular, where-ever they are!
    I also like the graffiti, thats a fantastic way of art!

    Feel free to visit my Dutch blog, bye.

    Like

  6. Great photos and story. Makes me want to get on the bus!

    Like

  7. moi says:

    cool….labor of love…..the bus sure will be cynosure of every eye around after the make-over 🙂

    Like

  8. what an excellent project

    Like

  9. Annie says:

    What a treat! What an absolutely fun day to be amid music and artists and color galore.

    Like

  10. Wow what a great project. Lets get rid of all those boring vehicles!!

    Like

Leave a comment

