The Mitzvah Tank in Times Square

Parked in front of the Times Square subway station, surrounded by neon and flashing lights, was a large vehicle bearing signs that identified it as a Mitzvah Tank. A what?

Mitzvah Tanks are a fleet of specially-outfitted motor homes used by followers of Menachem M. Schneersohn, commonly known as the Lubavitcher Rebbe. His adherents, who are called Lubavitchers, use the vehicles as portable educational and outreach centers.

To understand the purpose of the Mitzvah Tanks, it is necessary to know that the Lubavitchers are Orthodox Jews who encourage secular Jews to learn about and practice Judaism.

The Lubavitchers are not like traditional missionaries or evangelists. They aren’t trying to convert anyone who follows a different religion; rather, their goal is to reach those who have drifted away from (or never really learned) the teachings of their own faith.

The name Mitzvah Tank combines two important concepts: a mitzvah is a good deed (or a holy obligation), and the Lubavitchers cheerfully compare their outreach efforts to a military campaign in which motor homes serve as “tanks.” 

Mitzvah Tanks are often seen around town just before major Jewish festivals. Since Passover (Pesach) begins tonight, the tank in Times Square was surrounded by kids offering boxes of hand-made matzoh and information about the holiday.

When I guessed that the kids lived in Brooklyn (location of the Lubavitcher World Headquarters), they were delighted to give me kosher-for-passover snacks and pose for a few photos.

They also urged me to visit their neighborhood, Crown Heights, including a trip to the Jewish Children’s Museum that opened last year. Well, the weather is getting warmer …


In front of the Times Square subway station
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Let’s welcome Moshiach with acts of goodness & kindness
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Step up to the Mitzvah Tank
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Parked on 42nd Street
Originally uploaded by annulla.


Boys with boxes of hand-made matzoh
Originally uploaded by annulla.

Wikipedia: Mitzvah Tank
Gothamist: Mitzvah Tank Invasion
Chabad Lubavitch World Headquarters
Passover
Beit Chabad: Pesach
Tank Parade

16 Responses to The Mitzvah Tank in Times Square

  1. What a great thing they do and lovely photos you have taken! :o)

    Like

  2. Pendullum says:

    These pics just had me smiling…

    Like

  3. Meg says:

    Interesting juxtaposition of Mt Rushmore and other pictures on the ‘tanks’ and the Mitzvah message.

    Like

  4. Erica says:

    I cannot say enough good things about Chabad-Lubavitch. They are such good peeps, and in my opinion represent all that is good and holy about organized religion (because, as we know, organized religion is not always such a good thing).

    Very cool pics.

    Like

  5. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching
    on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to
    get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

    Like

  6. Very soon this website will be famous among all
    blogging and site-building visitors, due to it’s pleasant posts

    Like

  7. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came
    to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

    Like

  8. Wonderful, what a blog it is! This website provides helpful data to us, keep it up.

    Like

  9. Hey there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics?
    Thanks!

    Like

  10. I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve
    got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

  11. Gracie says:

    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist
    with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted
    keywords but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share.

    Cheers!

    Like

  12. Thankfulness to my father who stated to me on the topic of this website, this
    blog is actually amazing.

    Like

  13. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I
    receive four emails with the same comment.
    There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?

    Thanks!

    Like

  14. If you are going for best contents like I do, only go to see this
    website all the time as it gives quality contents,
    thanks

    Like

  15. Hi my family member! I want to say that this post is amazing, great written and include
    almost all important infos. I would like to peer extra posts like this .

    Like

  16. Sooooooo amazing submit, i love some words so much and may i quote a few of them on my weblog? I also have e-mailed you relating to could it be possible for us to exchange our links, hope talking with you soon.

    Like

Leave a comment

