A tile with a smile

It was late, I was tired, and I couldn’t wait to get back to Brooklyn. The last thing I wanted to do was descend into the hot, stagnant air of the Chambers Street subway station, but down I went.

As I walked along the platform, waiting for a train, I saw something completely unexpected: a lopsided little smile, carved into a tile. Perhaps the smile was created by a mischievous worker, perhaps by a bored commuter, but either way, it brought a smile to my face and made the night a little bit brighter.

IMG_5949
The tile

IMG_5947
The smile

Subway.Org: Chambers Street (IRT West Side Line)

2 Responses to A tile with a smile

  1. Ruth says:

    That is a cheerful sight indeed, one I would have been thrilled to see. Good for you to look for the small joys around you.

    Like

  2. antof9 says:

    That makes me smile too :)

    Like

Leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

