Koons on the Roof

What to do on an unseasonably warm day? How about going up to the roof?

While nearly everyone knows that the Metropolitan Museum of Art has a vast and wonderful collection, fewer visitors are familiar with its roof garden. Opened to the public in 1987, the Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Roof Garden offers a spectacular view of Central Park and the Manhattan skyline and generally displays the work of a single artist.

The current show puts the spotlight on controversial American artist Jeff Koons, featuring three works that have never before been on public display. The sculptures, all created in the 1990s, are Sacred Heart, Balloon Dog (Yellow) and Coloring Book.

All three pieces are made of high chromium stainless steel with transparent color coating and are set in the dazzlingly dramatic space atop the museum. If you can go on a sunny day, do it. Weather permitting, the exhibit will be on display through October 26, 2008.

IMG_9562
Sign and brochures near the elevator to the roof

IMG_9558
The group on the roof

IMG_9508
Work entitled Balloon Dog

IMG_9517
It is called Sacred Heart

IMG_9534
Tourists taking photos of themselves beside Sacred Heart

IMG_9526
The title is Coloring Book

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Jeff Koons on the Roof
Jeff Koons

12 Responses to Koons on the Roof

  1. photowannabe says:

    Very fascinating art pieces. I love his balloon dog sculpture.
    Wish I could say that the bird bath is mine. I fell in love with it at a flea market I attended. It was too rich for my pocket book, but I like to think that maybe someday I can make one similar to it.

    Like

  2. Esther says:

    Oh, I love this! So colorful!

    I wish I could go to New York and see this!

    Like

  3. Faye Pekas says:

    I love these! What wonderful pieces of art. I especially love the balloon dogs.

    Like

  4. wanda says:

    Thanks for stopping by Brushstrokes… I have save your post and will be back to see you again.

    Loved the art on the roof… that was amazing!

    Like

  5. Olivier says:

    il a fait une exposition dans le château de Versailles en France, et cela a fait beaucoup de polémiques entre son modernisme et le conservatisme du château.
    he had an exhibition in the Castle of Versailles in France, and has done a lot of controversy between his modernism and conservatism of the castle.

    Like

  6. moi says:

    that scared heart is a winner!!! love the whole shiny quality to the sculptures……..

    Like

  7. antof9 says:

    I saw these thumbnails on flickr the other day, and would hoping that meant a new blog entry would show up on my Google Reader with them!

    This is amazing and cool, and I had no idea there was a roof garden.

    Like

  8. I’ve been up there two or three times. It’s really nice when it’s not crowded.

    And the views of the city from up there is breathtaking.

    Like

  9. Yes!!! You got the right idea! And… if, weather permitting, you are in the museum on a Friday or Saturday , days when the museum closes late, you can enjoy a little cocktail with the views. Everything looks even nicer then! ;)

    I love Jeff Koons’ Balloon Dog (Yellow) but I think my favorite was when we had David Smith works up there. The light playing with the pieces was just magnificient (see this to see what I am referring to).

    Like

  10. z says:

    Sounds like it was a good show. I would have gone…

    Like

  11. Mperience! says:

    [...] 2805 Blogs on Jeff Koons 2 Oct 2009 Daft Punk, Jeff Koons, and Ed Paschke 16 Jul 2008 Koons on the Roof 15 Oct 2008 Review: Made in Heaven- Jeff Koons at the MCA 4 Jun 2008 Jeff Koons 13 Mar 2009 [...]

    Like

Leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

